Greener Pastures

agriculture countryside crop cropland

By Jerry Lambert

Now that we’re well into the new year, many resolutions have already fallen by the wayside. Was one of your resolutions to strike out on a new career path? We’ve all asked the question from time to time, “What If?” What if you decided to try something new in the job market? You’ve been stuck in the same job for over fifteen years, and quite frankly, you’re bored out of your skull! But is it worth the risk? What if it doesn’t work out? How will you pay your bills? What about your benefits and 401k? What if you’re not cut out for the new job? Will your spouse leave in a fit of rage, scattering your clothes all over the front lawn? These are all valid questions that need to be answered.

We’ve all asked, “What If?” However, most of the time we never take any action. Mainly because we don’t want to sacrifice our job security and paycheck. That said, last year I decided to give “What If?” a try. I left my job at Global Discovery Vacations and took a sales position with Art Van Furniture. To be honest, one of the main reasons for this decision was because Art Van’s Warren location was only three miles from my house. Global Discovery Vacations was thirty-one miles away, and if the weather was bad, it could take up to an hour to get there. In retrospect, living close to a prospective job should never be a determining factor in taking the position. It’s always a good idea to fully weigh the Pros and Cons, before making any life-changing decision.

However, another reason for considering the Art Van job was that appointments at Global had slowed down drastically. So, after a lot of thought, I decided a change to Art Van might actually do me some good. The training classes, which were very informative, were brutal. However, after two weeks of classroom instruction, I aced the final exam and moved onto the showroom floor. I was not prepared for what awaited me. The cutthroat business of retail furniture sales is not something to be taken lightly. Fortunately, I had to quit for medical reasons. My right foot gave out after a few weeks on the hard tile floor. Then, after returning from a two week vacation in Florida, I was able to get my job back at GDV. Now, I’m happily ensconced back at my desk, loving what I do. Take it from me the pasture is not always greener. However, you’ll never know unless you try!

If you like what you’re reading on this blog, please leave a comment and share it with your friends. Also, if you would like to be notified of new postings, please click on the “Follow” button in the lower right corner. Thanks for visiting!

Disclaimer: Any advertisements that appear on this blog are posted by WordPress and not by the author of this blog.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started